Don't Miss

Riyad Mahrez named Africa’s best player

By on January 6, 2017

Leicester forward Riyad Mahrez has won the Confederation of African Football’s player of the year award.

The 25-year-old Algerian, who helped Leicester to the Premier League title, is also the PFA Player of the Year and BBC African Footballer of the Year.

“I’m very happy to win because obviously it was against two big players” Mahrez said.

Arsenal and Nigeria forward Alex Iwobi, 20, won the young player award.

Countryman and Manchester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho, 20, won the most promising talent award.

Uganda’s historic qualification for the Africa Cup of Nations did not go unnoticed and they were rewarded with the National Team of the Year.

Gambian Knight of the whistle, Bakary Papa Gassama also made his own piece of history after being decorated Referee of the Year for the third time in a row.

Following Guinea Bissau’s qualification to the Nations Cup, their first for a major continental championship, Manuel Lopes Nascimento, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation was named Football Leader of the Year.

Ivorian goal machine, Laurent Pokou, who passed away last November, was the “African Legend” together with Cameroonian Emilienne Mbango, one of the pioneers of women’s football on the continent.

the Platinium Award went to President of Nigeria Muhammadu Buhari.

About AfricaTimes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.